

Frank Norfleet (Left), Kemmons Wilson And James Merkle Chamber's 1972 President, Board Chairman And President-Elect

Chamber Elects New Leadership

1972 president of the Memphis neral Home. Area Chamber of Commerce and Kemmons Wilson, board Chamber board.

directors at the Sheraton-Pea-

Bank, will become presidentelect.

Nine new directors, includ-

Mrs. Eleanor O'Neill, president of Welcome Wagon International; Mrs. Mildred Long, communications; Robert G. immediate past chairman. president of J. Strickland & Co.; Edgar Bailey, president of E. O. Bailey & Co.; Thomas C. Farnsworth Jr., owner of Thomas C. Farnsworth real estate; H. A. Gilliam Sr., vice president of Universal Life Insurance; Charles W. Goodyear, regional manager of Humble Oil & Refining; Carl J. Grant, president of Carl J. Grant Co.; John E. 'Buddy Leake Jr., vice president-treasurer of Leake-Shapiro Personnel Service, and Dr.

Frank M. Norfleet, president of Parts, Inc., has been elected of the board of Memphis Function of the Memphis o

Mr. Norfleet served this Hunt, public affairs. chairman of Holiday Inns, year as president-elect and Inc., will be chairman of the board chairman of the First National Bank, as president on cer, said new vice presidents Chamber of Commerce offi-Jan. 1. Mr. Wilson has served for human resources and the cers for next year were elected as a member of the chamber's chamber's new business and yesterday afternoon at a meetexecutive committee since the industry divisions will be ing of the chamber's board of Greater Memphis Program named later. was begun in 1968. He will succeed George M. Houston, pres-James C. Merkle, president ident of Mid-South Title, as of Union Planters National chamber board chairman.

presidents were Walter A. Bar- committee were W. D. Gal-

membership, and R. M. 'Mac'

David W. Cooley, who was renamed chief executive offi-

New members of the executive committee for 1972 will be Jerry Salemi, representing the Retail Merchants Association, and Dr. Joseph E. Johnson. Elected to new terms as vice Renamed to the executive ret, central city development; breath, former president and ing the first two women to Wayne W. Pyeatt, community board chairman, Abe Plough, serve on the board, also were improvement, and Odell Horelected. They are:

Calvin R. Henze, Lewis Mcton, research. Re-elected as vice presidents Mr. Morgan. Mr. Houston will

Dec. 22 1971