

# Southern Literary Festival

SOUTHWESTERN AT MEMPHIS

April 20, 21, 22, 1967

Twenty-sixth Year

## Program

### SOUTHERN LITERARY FESTIVAL, 1967

#### SOUTHWESTERN AT MEMPHIS

MEMPHIS, TENNESSEE

APRIL 20, 21, 22

#### THURSDAY, APRIL 20

8:00 p.m. **General Assembly**......Hardie Auditorium, Palmer Hall.

WILLIAM SNYDER, The Drama. Introduced by Raymond Hill, Southwestern at Memphis.

9:00 p.m. BIRTHDAY\*, premiere performance of a new play by William Snyder. Presented by the Southwestern Department of Drama.

#### FRIDAY, APRIL 21

8:00 a.m. Registration Continues . . Halliburton Tower

10:00 a.m. **General Assembly** . . . . . Mallory Gymnasium Presiding: Yerger Clifton, Southwestern at

Presiding: Yerger Clifton, Southwestern at Memphis.

Welcome: John David Alexander, President, Southwestern at Memphis.

Response: O. B. Emerson, University of Alabama.

PETER TAYLOR, The Short Story. Introduced by James Roper, Southwestern at Memphis.

11:30- 1:00 Lunch

1:00- 4:00 p.m. Workshops.

1:00- 2:00 p.m. Workshop I. Writing the Drama, WILLIAM SNYDER and Raymond Hill. Hardie Auditorium, Palmer Hall.

Workshop II. Writing Poetry. PAUL RAM-SEY and Dan Ross. The Adult Education Center, Burrow Library.

2:00- 3:00 p.m.	Workshop III. Writing the Short Story. PETER TAYLOR and Dan Ross. Hardie Auditorium, Palmer Hall.
	Workshop IV. Journalism. HENRY MITCH- ELL and Robert Cooper. The Adult Education Center, Burrow Library.
3:00- 4:00 p.m.	Workshop V. Writing Criticism. ALLEN TATE and James Roper. Hardie Auditorium, Palmer Hall.
	Workshop VI. Writing the Novel. JOAN WILLIAMS and Jack Farris. The Adult Education Center, Burrow Library.
4:30- 5:30 p.m.	Autographing and Refreshments
6:30 p.m.	Festival BanquetBurrow Refectory
8:00 p.m.	General AssemblyMallory Gymnasium
	Presiding: Yerger Clifton.
Appartment pro- lease constitution	ALLEN TATE, Poetry. Introduced by John Henry Davis, Southwestern at Memphis.
9:30-10:30 p.m.	Reception and Refreshments
	The Memphis Academy of Art, Overton Park.
SATURDAY, APRIL 22	
10:00 a.m.	General Assembly Mallory Gymnasium
	Presiding: Yerger Clifton.
	Announcement of the Prize Winning Manuscripts and the awarding of prizes, Robert Cooper, Festival Secretary.
	JOAN WILLIAMS, The Novel. Introduced by Albert Johnson, Southwestern at Memphis.
	Business Meeting.
	alo (1 area (n. 👟 ) i sur peril peril (necesaria)
Officers of the Association	
Yerger Clifton, Southwestern at MemphisPresident	

## College and University Members

Agnes Scott College, Decatur, Georgia Alabama College, Montevallo, Alabama Belhaven College, Jackson, Mississippi Belmont College, Nashville, Tennessee Birmingham Southern College, Birmingham, Alabama Blue Mountain College, Blue Mountain, Mississippi Centenary College of Louisiana, Shreveport, Louisiana Clemson University, Clemson, South Carolina Columbia College, Columbia, South Carolina Converse College, Spartanburg, South Carolina Delta State College, Cleveland, Mississippi East Texas State University, Commerce, Texas Emory University, Atlanta, Georgia Florence State College, Florence, Alabama Francis T. Nicholls State College, Thibodaux, Louisiana Huntingdon College, Montgomery, Alabama Jacksonville State College, Jacksonville, Alabama Judson College, Marion, Alabama Memphis Academy of Arts, Memphis, Tennessee Memphis State University, Memphis, Tennessee Millsaps College, Jackson, Mississippi Mississippi College, Clinton, Mississippi Mississippi State College for Women, Columbus, Mississippi Mississippi State University, Starkville, Mississippi Mobile College, Mobile, Alabama Murray State University, Murray, Kentucky Northwestern State College, Natchitoches, Louisiana Pfeiffer College, Misenheimer, North Carolina Richmond Professional Institue, Richmond, Virginia Southwestern at Memphis, Memphis, Tennessee Tougaloo College, Tougaloo, Mississippi University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa, Alabama University of Chattanooga, Chattanooga, Tennessee University of Dallas, Irving, Texas University of Houston, Houston, Texas University of Kentucky, Lexington, Kentucky University of Louisville, Louisville, Kentucky University of Mississippi, Oxford, Mississippi University of Southern Alabama, Mobile, Alabama University of Southern Mississippi, Hattiesburg, Mississippi University of Tennessee, Knoxville, Tennessee Wesleyan College, Macon, Georgia William Carey College, Hattiesburg, Mississippi